Heres one for you all

dan158

I got the Redding type S die for 223..
I went to bump the shoulder back 003.. Die down the whole way and no bump back..
I shaved about .003 off the shell holder and again the shoulder didn't get bumped back..
I looked between the shell holder and die as I raised the case into the die.. It stops and I have a large gap between shell holder and the die.. Hrmmm.
I had to loosen the rod assembly and to let the bushing float quite a bit so I could get the bump back I needed.. I am new to bushing dies and the directions I didn't read and set it up as a regular die pretty much.. Does this sound correct or did I miss a step or what should I do? Thanks all.. Dan

I have never used a Redding S die, but looking at the link below, it appears to me that they make an S type die in both NECK and FULL LENGTH....which do you have?

Redding S Dies

Regards,
hm

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: hm1996I have never used a Redding S die, but looking at the link below, it appears to me that they make an S type die in both NECK and FULL LENGTH....which do you have?

Redding S Dies

Regards,
hm

FL

Originally Posted By: dan158I got the Redding type S die for 223..
I went to bump the shoulder back 003.. Die down the whole way and no bump back..
I shaved about .003 off the shell holder and again the shoulder didn't get bumped back..
I looked between the shell holder and die as I raised the case into the die.. It stops and I have a large gap between shell holder and the die.. Hrmmm.
I had to loosen the rod assembly and to let the bushing float quite a bit so I could get the bump back I needed.. I am new to bushing dies and the directions I didn't read and set it up as a regular die pretty much.. Does this sound correct or did I miss a step or what should I do? Thanks all.. Dan

Keep turning the die in. If you have gap it has more to go.

Bushing float has nothing to do with shoulder bump.

Greg

PS I haven't forgotten your data.
thumbup.gif