Kimber Open Country update

Bruised

A couple months ago I asked about member's experiences with Kimber rifles. Well I ordered a Kimber Open Country in May and received it July 5th. Fit and finish on the rifle is excellent.
The barrel sits evenly in the stock, no gaps around tang or bottom metal. The "Kim-Pro" finish is very nice looking and evenly applied. We'll see about durability. The only thing that I'm not crazy about is the very deep curve of the trigger. The function of the trigger is very good, it will just take some time to get used to the trigger blade/shoe whatever you want to call it. I was able to quickly adjust the trigger to around 2 1/2 pounds.
I mounted a Leupold VX6 3-18 in Talley light weight rings and bore sighted. I've never done a true barrel break-in before but thought I'd try it on this rifle. I got a box of Hornady American Gunner 140gr for the initial tests. First outing I was only able to fire 17 rounds due to a strong thunderstorm. After 3 rounds at 100 yards to zero the scope I moved to 200 yards. I was pleased to have all 17 shots under 3/4 MOA.
I loaded a 10 shot ladder test with the once fired Hornady cases, Berger 140 VLD-hunting bullets, Reloader 16 and CCI BR2s.
At 200 yds all 10 rounds, with a 1.8 grain spread were in a 3/4 MOA group. I then performed the Berger seating depth test and now have a 1/4 MOA load with only 44 rounds fired. Needless to say, I'm very happy wit this rifle so far.
Bobby

Sounds like it's a REAL shooter. I looked up the specs, and it's hard to fathom a sub-7 pound rifle with a barrel that looks that thick, but sounds like just the ticket for a longer range, carry rifle. Thanx for sharing.