Help deciding on two stage trigger

Crippleone

Hello, I purchased a Ruger ar556 a couple years ago. OK ar but not real good at long range accuracy. So I ordered a white oak armament complete upper. But now I'm thinking I need to get a better trigger. Have decided on a two stage timney drop in. Now I have to decide on the short pull trigger or the long pull. I will mostly be using it for long range bench shooting, but wouldn't rule out some hill side long range coyote hunting. Please help with some ideas, I'm pretty new at this. Thanks

as someone who owns a couple timney 4.5lb single stages - that'll do what you're looking for just nicely. its a beautiful hunting trigger and a reasonable on the bench trigger for that too.

they also make a 3.5 lb version as well if you want a bit lighter break. my 4.5 lb ones break super clean though and i'm working on ruining all the friends/family who have ar's with mil spec triggers slowly but surely
laugh.gif

I was in the same boat but I upgraded to a White Oak's barrel on a factory Colt. My accuracy definitely improved. I got the SDM with 1:7 twist as a planned to shoot heavy loads. I had a single stage Jard because I really liked very light triggers. I ended up upgrading to the Geissle National Match and it is hands down the best 2 stage trigger I've ever pulled. It will definitely improve your accuracy. The new barrel and trigger with 77 Gr Sierra TMK shoots right around the 0.5"-0.7" Mark which is my average of 6 5 shot groups on one target. Still working up loads feeling very close. I feel very confident I can get it right at the half inch mark consistently. That is my ultimate goal. Anyway, the Geissle National Match is just unbelievable. Warning, if you buy 1 you will want more

Can't go wrong with one of these. I have 3 of them and the ones with flat triggers are my favorite.

Triggers

I also have a Timney 3.5lb and it's nice too.