hardest hitting/max effective distance .223 round

AMace

Just wondering what everyone's experience is hunting coyotes with a .223 Remington in a 24", 1:9 twist Heavy barrel Savage Model 110 Predator Hunter bolt action, topped with a Vortex Viper HST 6-24x50(or similar)? I read that some people shooting .223's can reach out as far as 600 yards consistently with practice, but that doesn't necessarily mean it's still lethal enough to cleanly shoot a living animal)

I am reloading, so my options will be good, but I just don't know what I'm looking for.....Should a person go with a light, fast round at long range, or a slower but heavier bullet to get the most "punch", and how far would it still be good enough to kill a coyote quickly?
(I have ZERO personal experience with this caliber, and just because I may find a round that's accurate to 400 yards, doesn't mean it'll kill a coyote that far out)
If anyone could give me info on the "max" range I can expect my new gun to be effective to, I'd appreciate. My skill and glass won't be the main issue at distance, it'll be the gun/cartridge.
thumbup.gif

Last edited:
My gun has an very good effective range.............but I have an ethical range. I keep my shots under 200yds.

Long shots are fun to brag about, but when you start to stretch out your shots other variables come into play that you, the shooter can't always control. I owe the animal that much.

Here Kitty Kitty

A light 223 40gr/50gr Vmax @ 500-ish yards will be very similar to a 22Magnum @ 75-100 yards (velocity and energy). Not ideal but it'll work IF you can place the shot correctly.

Which you can't, so forget about it. If you could, you'd already know the answer to your own question because you'd be familiar with ballistic calculators and comparing bullets and laser rangefinders and drop charts.

Let's be realistic... 300 yards and under is plenty far for most folks with a 223 or anything else for that matter.