What age do you think a boy should get his first rifle?

I started shooting a cut down single shot .22 at age 6, but had to earn 'my' first .22 through proficiency at age 10, first .22 pistol at 13, as well as my .410...

I think it all depends on the willingness of the child to learn, under strict supervision, and demonstrate self discipline..My grandfather started me out with ten rounds and only when he was there to supervise...My goal was to light 9 of 10 wooden kitchen matches with the ten shots given and I could only shoot when he had time away from his boot making/shoe repair shop and the weather was good..Took me four years to do it....Fortunately the pistol and shotgun didn't require the same test...

That depends a lot on the boy. Responsible?? ethical? Has he hunted with dad since he was 2??
10-12 sounds good. But??
My grandkids have hunted since they were 4-5. They have all shot rabbits. The oldest is going to be 12 this year and hunt big game. I have rifles for them but have not "given" them to them.

My boy has had a single shot .22 Rascal since he was 6. He is almost 11 now and is always supervised, has always been really safe with it and has been hunting with me for a few years. I got his is first center-fire rifle yesterday as I want it to practice with it this summer before youth deer season in the fall. I think he is good but I'm not getting much approval from fellow family members.

My dad didn't let me buy my own .22 Marlin bolt action till I was 13, and only let me get the model he approved. I always felt like it was a little late, but he didn't hunt. I wasn't able to get my first centerfire or even shoot one till I was 18 and able to buy it myself.

Its not like you are handing him a rifle unsupervised and telling him to go have fun but be safe. So long as he's under close adult supervision, then I say go for it so long as he's not developing a flinch or bad habits from to much recoil or an ill fitted rifle.

We all know each is different.