Guys I'd like some advice becoming a hunting guide.

CrazyKenley

I'm sure you've all had this question come up. The deal is, I'm a veteran, and have been tested in fieldcraft, provide first aid to critical wounds and leadership. I can carry 125 lbs of equipment through mountains, track, read a topo map, and shoot 300m with intermediate accuracy, as well as do that all safely. I also love to hunt, I am in great shape and my attitude is pretty good. I don't think I'm more qualified than anyone other than anyone else, but I'm willing to learn, and I'm working towards gaining a disability check, so I'm not necessarily trying to get rich. I'm currently living in Oklahoma, but that may change, as I've yet to marry or have children. What do I need to do to realize this goal? I feel as if outfitters may really like having me due to my background as a soldier and the skills I gained there.

You could try to get on somewhere as a ranch hand and work your way into guiding for that hunting ranch. There is tons of work to do year round like fixing fence, building and equipment maintenance, predator control, filling feeders, checking cameras etc. Most guides are not just guides but ranch hands as well. Actual guiding is probably only 30 to 40% of the workload in most hunting ranches.

Much appreciated. I've been writing down numbers to outfitters I find with entry level job listings in any state and grilling chicken here wondering where I may well end up. You've done this devil a good service, the community here has yet to fail me.

Originally Posted By: CrazyKenley and I'm working towards gaining a disability check,

just wondering what you meant by this. ^^
unsure.gif

Originally Posted By: SlickerThanSnotOriginally Posted By: CrazyKenley and I'm working towards gaining a disability check,

just wondering what you meant by this. ^^
unsure.gif

Well, I wasn't going to say anything....
But since somebody else brought it up????

grin.gif

All of this,