max power for "hunting" .223 rifle ???

bachekermooni

Looking to put a scope on my "hunting" 223 - Mostly Coyotes and smaller hogs. Trying to keep it as lite as possible since Kimber Montana or Howa 1500 mini will be the rifle.

Whst should the practical max power of such a scope be? 8x, 9x, 10x? I want a lite scope. If you have a scope you like, please tell me.

No caliber suitability discussion / comments - please.

My preference in order, 1.5-6x40, 2.5-10x40, 2-7x35 and 3-9x40. If you would have said PD's and GS it would have been much different. Your talking big targets and shorter ranges so I would put a plus on FOV over X's..

Sightron II 1.5-6x40

Burris Sig Sellect 1.5-6x40

Elite 4200 2.5-10x40

Everyone has different opinions on what's too much or not enough. I'm new at this sport, but I quickly realized 3x on the low end wasn't low enough. I'd recommend you start low as you can on the mag range and go as high as your budget allows... here's some ones to consider:

Vortex Razor HD LH 1.5-8x32 - huge FOV and mag range, Vortex Razor quality glass in a lighter-weight package, and more affordable. Not much to not like there. Watch eBay or other places for good deals on used.

Or you could look at this very reasonably priced used Nikon Monarch 1.5-6x42 over in the Classifieds for $275. Heck! I've thought about buying it as a spare just because I think it's a great deal and I think Nikon offers a ton of value, especially in the glass quality department.

Originally Posted By: pahntr760Leupold UltraLight 3-9X33 VX-2...put it in Talley LW rings and you're set up well.

This or the VX-3 2.58x36 would be my choice. I shot a lot of coyotes and prairie dogs with my relatively lightweight CZ527 in .223 using a regular ol' Leupold Vari-X II 3-9x40.