6.5 Grendel vs. 6.8spc vs. 6x6.8

Ok, complete newb to any of these calibers. What are the pro's and con's to each of these calibers? Usage would be yotes and hogs at night with thermal.

Don't flame the new guy, please.
smile.gif

Grendel is more friendly towards longer heavier bullets due to the shorter case and being able to seat bullets out longer.
6.8 will launch the lighter 85 to 90 grain bullets in the 2900s.
6x6.8 will give you the option of lighter 55 or 58 pills around 3500 along with the 87 ish bullets back down around that 2900 mark. Gotta have the dies to neck this round down though.
Imo the 6x6.8 or the 22 Nosler is the night time calling calibers of choice. Ranging can be tough and I prefer fast and flat. My 22 Nosler shoots 55s 3490 with cfe 223 and keeps em .5 ish.

Last edited:
Have a friend with a hog depradation permit for night hunting. Yotes would be different, Texas etc. I am pretty sure that night time predator hunting in Oklahoma isn't legal...unfortunately.

Originally Posted By: varminter .223Grendel is more friendly towards longer heavier bullets due to the shorter case and being able to seat bullets out longer.
6.8 will launch the lighter 85 to 90 grain bullets in the 2900s.
6x6.8 will give you the option of lighter 55 or 58 pills around 3500 along with the 87 ish bullets back down around that 2900 mark. Gotta have the dies to neck this round down though.
Imo the 6x6.8 or the 22 Nosler is the night time calling calibers of choice. Ranging can be tough and I prefer fast and flat. My 22 Nosler shoots 55s 3490 with cfe 223 and keeps em .5 ish.

Sounds like a 6x6.8 with 75 vmax would be a good blend of speed and thump.

How long of a barrel do you want, and how long of shots would you expect?

I like the 6mm's also but would want 20" of barrel for those. Probably 85 gr Sierra's about 2900 like was mentioned would be great on piggies.