How many of you are using diaphragm calls this year?

CrazyKenley

My best friend and I have been experimenting with various calls, and I can already say that I've had little luck with closed reed calls, whereas diaphragm calls have proven quite handy. Given I purchased a set of three with an accompanying DVD focused on how to use them. I also practice whenever the house is empty. Upon request I can give you all the name of what I got. The single reed and double reed calls are fairly easy to use, whereas the triple has proven quite challenging even after hours of attempts.
Ultimately I learned through persistence over the last few weeks how to do very convincing cat distress, puppy howls, puppy distress and fawn distress.
This evening my friend and I sat on his porch and experimented with diaphragms. He currently only possesses a double reed turkey call, and tried and tried to do puppy distress with it. I'm by no means an expert, but perhaps he needs something more purpose built? It had no cut reeds, but I also think he hasn't relaxed his tongue enough yet because he's still searching for his feel good form, he can't hold a tone quite yet. I, however, used a single reed call to send up some puppy howls that got responses from the local pack.