Quieting the slide of a Rem. 760?

Junebugg

I have a Remington 760 Gamemaster in 300 sav My Grandfather gave me and I haven't used it for some time because the slide/pump rattles and is a little noisey carrying in the woods.He passed this year and I would like to try and take a good buck with the rifle he "loaned" me 22 years ago to kill my first buck;and later ended up giving me when he lost interest in hunting.
Now the Question...Is it possible to quiet the action of this rifle?A fairly easy fix without involving a gun$mith or is there nothing that can be done?
Thanks for any replys,junebugg

Junebugg,

This may help. The sling screw/bolt attaches at the end of the forearm and as the sling swings this bolt loosens more often than tightens. After about 20 years of hunting with mine I had the same problem and tightening this helped half the problem. They are GREAT deer rifles. Sometimes a dab of heavy grease can deaden a rattle also.

Good luck this season.

I take a piece of 1/8" thick foam cut it to about an inch by a half inch and slide it between the barrel and the front of the pump. Keep a couple of spares in your pocket as well and slide another back into place after the shot. This takes care of all the noise. Mine is a 1983 that was bought new and probably has been shot a good thousand plus times so the pump can be rotated left to right a good quarter plus inch from wear. I had a new washer put in the pump but it didn't seem to help much. The foam works and keeps everything from moving. I came up with the foam idea a couple of years ago after a couple of deer heard my gun rattle. Try it, it works great.

If I'm not mistaken there is a O-ring in the forearm assembly that wears and needs replaced when the rattle developes.