6.5 grendel

nastynatesfish

I'm new to the caliber. Built a 1-8tw 24" ar into it. I want to shoot the 130 eldm. I have h4895, varget and arcomp. I also picked up a pound of cfe223 to try in my 223 but see it'll shoot in the grendel also. I loaded some.with the h4895
And some with the arcomp. Not alot of load data that I can find for either. Bowler.has some.data for the h4895. I read alot about people going to the arcomp but no place.to find decent load info?? Anyone run it?

I perused the internet to find loading data. There's a forum specific to the Grendel that can lead you to some as well. Truth be known I also took a few pictures of loading data at Cabelas where they had books unwrapped. Call me cheap but I have dozens of loading books I've bought over the years so I've paid my dues.

Last edited:
I've got the hornady book. But it only shows h4895. I'd love to find some good data for the arcomp and 130s. Even just a solid start point.

Nate, go to 65Grendel.com . They have a lot of loading data there. You might also want to look at the 8202xbr powder. I emailed Hornady and they said to try CFE223 and 123 br SST for hunting and 123 ELD M for targets. Hornady gives data on their website also. It looks to me the Grendel does best with 120-123 gr bullets. I'm waiting on a BHW 20" from Ritch right now. Getting ready to order some more bullets. Also make sure you get the magazines for the Grendel so you can load it longer. You might want to pm GLShooter on here. He has a lot of experience with them and maybe he can direct you to the right place.

I've got mags. I have my barrel from sheepdog gunworks LLC. I got it from their manufacturer for a good price. I want to shot the 130s. I'm not real interested in the light bullets for it