Newbie in maine looking for help!

Rustyinmaine

New to PM and coyote hunting in general so, Hello everyone!
I have been out 6 times with no luck. Think I had one on other end of power line, caught a glimpse of streaking fur but don't really know what I am doing. Been hunting in the maine deer woods since I was a kid, So not new to the woods.
I don't know anyone that hunts coyote so looking to Google and forums for knowledge. Calls? How long to call? Cover scents? Camo? Set ups? Where (not hunting spots but typical areas to scout/hunt)? Rifle or shotgun?
Any info would be greatly appreciated or if anyone knows someone that may be willing to mentor. I am a very respectful student and eager to learn. I have couple spots that have decent sign I would be willing to share in biddeford/saco for a quick lesson.
Thanks in advance and happy hunting, Rusty

We all call many that we never see, just have to keep at it and don't give up. Forget cover scents, keep the wind in your face and the sun at your back. Any camo will work, as will Carhart brown, more important is sitting still. Try farms, most farmers will gladly let you hunt, also around old beaver ponds,swamps,brushy cutovers, and anywhere that turkeys roost. Choice of gun will depend on where you hunt and expected range of shots. Try a few different distress calls and keep the volume down, they hear very well. I stay on stand at least 20 min, and sometimes an hour if the place feels right, and sometimes just sitting silent for 15 min after calling has paid off with a "sneaker". Lots of great info on this site, there is a group of Maine hunters that post here. Welcome, and one more time, DON'T GIVE UP !