Coyote hunting at night with lights

bigz1983

Hey everyone I just joined the Predator master forums. I'm a beginner coyote hunter and I just got into coyote hunting at night.

I was wondering when I'm out in a open area like a field do leave my lights on all the time and scan for coyotes? Do I only turn my lights on intermittently when scanning for coyotes?

I recommend that you Keep your light on all the time.
#1. Coyotes can come in, and leave, very fast. If you are not constantly scanning you can very easily miss them.
#2. You will hear some guys use the term "conditioning them to the light". I think that is true. If a coyote sees the light right from the start and he is not bothered by it he might come on in. But it is very likely that you will spook a coyote if you hit him with a light all of the sudden.

I think that is true for foxes too, but not as much for a bobcat.

Agree with the consensus here. Run the light all the time. With a good wide flooded beam you will sometimes catch movement out in the halo of the light even when the animal is not looking directly at you. Don't get zoned in only looking at the brightest spot of the light, you will see a lot with the halo as well.

Originally Posted By: DropadoglvOriginally Posted By: pmackI always keep scan light on. Everyone makes little mistakes from time to time.

That the best you got.
tt2.gif
tt2.gif

Seems pretty foolish when all the other posts agree with it. Even one of your "Pradator Tactics" Pro staffers agrees.

I've seen your posts, reading comprehension isn't one of your stronger points.

Last edited: