The one thing....

Zcustom

So what is the one most important aspect of making a stand? I am fairly new to this, never had anyone show me how, just read a lot(on PM mostly) and kept experimenting. Not sure if I started out like most and just put a caller out there one day and sure enough a coyote popped up, and so started the addiction. The last couple of years have been lackluster at best, called in some, made mistakes but never got it figured out. I had a sense several times they were there, just couldn't see them.

This year I focused on every stand, setup with the wind in my favor, used the terrain, and tried to be patient and focused on my position. I used to get kind of jacked up getting things set and seemed to rush, then when I got settled I would say "this sucks". Now, I will get settled and not every set but more than not I will settle in and say "yeah this is a good one". I think it is similar to bass fishing, you come up on a spot that just looks good, so you focus a bit harder, whether there is fish there or not.

So the question is what is the one thing over everything else that you prioritize when setting up.

I'm no expert usually call in a few each year but as blunt as it sounds the comment above is true, I used to make blind stands and hope there is a dog within earshot but since I have been locating dogs and setting up on them my success rate has gone way up and I'm making less stands ... And it seems to help if you can setup and let the coyote think he's cutting down wind of the sound ... Just make sure you can intercept him as he's circling!

LUCK LOL. I'd rather be lucky then good
thumbup.gif

I think!! But I'm pretty sure I'm neither so i dont know

Last edited: