Southern California coyote hunting

I am. I just got into coyote hunting recently, it's the first hunting I've done in a while. I'm far from an expert, I'm not sure I have much to offer you. I've got a couple so far.

I am, but relocating to vegas shortly. The whole state is loaded with dogs.They were in a down cycle with the drought so I have not been calling for a while. Their pop may be back up now, but certainly will improve after all this rain. Get out and start calling is the most important thing and do no give up. Do not be afraid to call the thick chaparral that most people overlook. There are tons of dogs there, but it is thick, rough, and intimidating to hunt. Use a shotgun or low power scope. You do not need to be able to see a mile. A small gully where you can see 100 yards is plenty. Call them into the gully. Make stands closer together because sound does not travel nearly as far in the thick bush and hills. Also do not overlook the shotgun only areas in the desert. Many people just keep on driving till they can use a rifle. Make sure you have san bernadino shooting map and know all the regs. Also, note they just created a bunch of national monuments and at least one doesn't allow hunting. If you do not have GPS hunting maps and a garmin, get them. Best tip of all, move to a new state before you are hunting coyote with a rock and pointy stick.

I heard they were looking to outlaw any pointy stick longer than 14" so you all better get your pointy stick ordered soon, there is still a ten day waiting period for pointy sticks. I think any size rock is still allowed.

Originally Posted By: RaidersI am. I just got into coyote hunting recently, it's the first hunting I've done in a while. I'm far from an expert, I'm not sure I have much to offer you. I've got a couple so far.

What area are you from? I am from north LA County. Santa Clarita area.

Last edited: