barrel length

foxhound

I'm curious, what length barrel are most of you guys using on your AR's? I'm torn between buying one and "building" one. I was wanting a 20" barrel. Any pros or cons to that choice that I may be overlooking? Thanks guys.

That's something I hadn't even considered. I was thinking longer barrel = better accuracy. Loudness never crossed my mind.Any noticeable accuracy differences between your 18 and 20 beyond 100 yards?

I have a 20" from Wilson Combat I just ordered. Thought it was going to be unbalanced and heavy but it balances fine. Got a .264 LBC ordered in 20" and hope it feels just as good. Have a 24" and don't really like it. As long as they go bang I like them.

My 6x45 is 18", my Grendel is 20". The 6x45 has a polymer lower and balances well with the 18"; the Grendel is aluminum and the longer barrel seems to balance well with it. It's of course heavier but I use tac slings on both guns so when I'm carrying them the weight doesn't seem to really be an issue.

Thanks for the info guys. Much appreciated. They're finally going to make them legal in my state. I believe we're the only state in the union that doesn't allow them. So, I've been trying to get an education on where to start. I guess the next step is visiting some shops and getting my hands on some to see how they feel and balance.

Ive got 16-20" and use them for different purposes. But 16-18 is my favorite for most of what i do.
If i ever get my Stamps back ill be testing a 12.5" 6.8.

I like a 20. you need all the speed you can get from the 223. There are several contours to choose from that make a 20 not that heavy. I would recommend a black hole LTR or standard with as light of handguard as you can get. one of mid west industries ultra light hand guards.