What happened to W-W quality control?

Rustydust

Dang but I'm ticked. Out of three 50 round bags of new Winchester brass (.243 Win) one of them was a .308 Win round and four of them had crushed and split necks. WTH? I have been buying W-W brass for over 40 years in all kinds of calibers and now suddenly they cannot manufacture quality components any longer? What is going on with them I wonder? Sad to see their quality control taking such a nosedive.

Anyone else had any problems with them lately? It is more than just a little irritating to me when I am paying for stuff that is no good right out of the box.

I don't think its only Winchester, its everywhere. I use to work for a company that stressed quality control and wanted quality products. But.....they bought the cheapest material they could get and sped up production to the point of being ridiculous then blamed crappy products on the employees doing a crappy job.

Originally Posted By: mbaysinger89I had a problem with some of their 22-250 brass last winter. Give em a call, they took care of me.

I guess I will have to. I tried to do it online but for some reason it would not send. Not something they designed I hope.

It seems a bit nitpicking perhaps but if I am paying for 50 rounds of brass then by golly I want 50 rounds of good usable brass. Not 47.

i would have to assume that its a symptom of coming out of the component crunch we've been in for the last several years. They've all been pushing so hard that some QC stuff is bound to happen here and there.

that said, i agree, you shouldn't have to worry about it in the first place, but they will step up and make it right i'm sure.

if i were in your shoes, i'd hit them up for a whole bag of the stuff, or even several if all 3 bags share the same lot number. tell them you've lost faith in the QC applied to the product you have in hand. i'll bet they'd be more than willing to take care of a long time customer so you dont start exploring competitor's products.