Thermal in woods

In my experience thermal does not work very well in the woods. Way too many warm tree trunks, stumps, etc. for me to distinguish a target from the background clutter.

Originally Posted By: 1trkyhntrIn my experience thermal does not work very well in the woods. Way too many warm tree trunks, stumps, etc. for me to distinguish a target from the background clutter.

I often wondered about that. I have limited field experience with my thermal and just getting comfortable with it now. I have worn it to check my trail cam at the bait pile at night and caught a opossum coming through the woods rather easily.

The thought has crossed my mind to set up a shotgun and try it in the woods. It might get pretty fast and furious making the switch to shotgun mounted with a light once one gets into range.

I thought my HD19A did very well in the woods. I was looking for a wounded hog and could see mice running through the woods, I spotted live pigs 100 yds through the woods. Later got a pic of the wounded hog at a feeder so the hog survived for another day or 10. I was impressed with the thermal.

I would believe it's easy to spot movement.

I knew I need to flip the pulsar out of the way on rifle hunts and was hoping to be able to shoulder the shotgun without flipping it but that won't work either.

I'm thinking laser and shoot from the hip
thumbup.gif

Last edited:
I always thought if you had a light with reasonably tight beam you could center target in the spot
of the beam with a shotgun as long as you aren't shooting a super tight pattern.

Just got thermal and am learning how to use it effectively.
Been an eye opener out with it 3 times and seen 5 animals would not have even know were there with out it. One I spotted as we approached calling location was mousing in field about 300 yd out as soon as the call started it turn an ran.