Baiting

Originally Posted By: LodgepoleI have read that one bait hunter for wolves prefers to be about 200 yds out to keep from spooking them with small noises and scent . Has this been a issue for you baiters ?
That's key at times here in Maine. If I can set up and comfortably shoot 200-300yds while in the cold of winter my success doubles.

Originally Posted By: leatherneckIs there anyone in here from the New England area who baits?
I will be putting out 3 or 4 baits this year however I prefer calling.
There are so many dogs in my area this year that I figured baiting would be an easier way to thin them out quickly.

Yip I am from Down East Maine. I have been hunting over bait and calling for 7-8 years now.

Originally Posted By: dog drillerLeatherneck, Baiting can be a fun and productive tool for eliminating coyotes. I personally have had better success baiting than calling here in New England. My time is limited to weekend hunting so it cuts down a lot of my calling chances. Also there are others in my area that both call and run dogs so it does not take long for the coyotes to get trained.
Baiting if you can get the right set up can give you the chance
to maybe not hunt so much ....as it is checking for a shooting opportunity 24/7.

I have put bait in various locations over the years and of course the best one is the one closest to home...because that is where I spend the most time if not at work. Others bait sites have offered a place that I could drive by and check. I have tried sites that are more remote. These became more challenging because I was not able to visit as often as I would have liked.