Where did I go wrong?

Born2hunt96

This is my first year putting up fur and I have run across a problem. Previously I had a coyote that I didnt have time to deal with right away so I froze him whole and got to it about a week later with no issues. Two weeks ago I had a coyote and a raccoon given to me right before I was leaving for the weekend and it was going to be above freezing out so I decided to go ahead and skin them while they were warm. I skinned them out and decided to wash them before freezing the pelts. The guy I am learning from on YouTube washes all of his fur with just water and he says it gives him better prices. I then rolled them up tail to nose and froze them like he does so they unroll as they thaw. It has been cold again recently and my shop isn't heated so it has taken awhile for them to thaw. The problem I ran into is that they dried out by the time they unrolled. What did I do wrong? Do I just need to find a way to thaw them out? This might sound really stupid but they dont seem overly dried out yet, if I were to soak them in a bucket of water would that out some moisture back into the skin enough so I could flesh and throw them on a stretcher? Any input is appreciated!

Sounds like you rolled them FUR IN?
If I freeze any they are FUR OUT so the leather does not dry.

You're okay, just hydrate them. If the fur is wet, yeah, soak in a water bucket. If the fur is dry, wrap wet cloth around the leather side until it can be worked on a beam.

Originally Posted By: Born2hunt96 if I were to soak them in a bucket of water would that out some moisture back into the skin enough so I could flesh and throw them on a stretcher? Any input is appreciated!

yes.

Coon creek outdoors ? I washed mine and let them drip overnight and put them in the freezer. So I'll see if I run into the same problem as you. I wonder if you but them in the freezer right after washing if it would make a difference.