6.5 Creedmoor for Elk

Mark204

A buddy of mine purchased a Creedmoor, he would like to use it for Elk. I personally do not own one so I have no experience with this round, only what I have read about it.

He would like to know if it's an excepatable round using a 147gr bullet? At what extended range would still be considered an ethical shot on an animal this size?

I know there are a lot of variables here, so this is strictly about the gun, not terrain, weather conditions or shooters ability.

Any input on this subject would be helpful.

Here Kitty Kitty

I'd use an app and look at energy down range. Elk aren't invincible, by you do want a bullet that's going to expand and penetrate. I think I'd look at a Berger or an accubond if I was gonna use it. My buddy kills cow elk with a 245 and a 100gr sp. I've used a 25-06 with a 115gr bullet. I prefer my 7mag and a 140. To each their own. If he's confident on his shot placement take it and try. But know the cartridges limits

Quote:At what extended range would still be considered an ethical shot on an animal this size? Let your conscious be your guide. As stated above, take a look at 6.5 Creedmoor external ballistics and go from there. FWIW, I am not a magnum freak at all, but my 6.5 stays at home during elk season.

For many years a .260 Remington was considered adequate for elk out to 300 - 400 yards. Along comes the 6.5 Creedmoor and the long range hunting rage, and now the same ballistics seem to be dandy to half of a mile.

Last edited:
Will it kill an elk yes, but All those variables are very important most of the time with elk.
After hunting public elk seasons all my life, the bigger question is, what are his ethics, tracking abilities, and constitution to stick with the pursuit and recovery.
If a person could limit themselves to a realistic range it would help.