Central Minnesota Calling

Up169north

I'm new here, and posted this general topic in a different section. I read that you aren't supposed to do that. I hope this can be my mulligan.

Central Minnesota Calling

Anybody else out there from the Gopher State? I am new to coyotes and hunting by myself alot of the time. I'm asking for some dos and donts south of Mille Lacs lake. I've read a lot (too much, probably) and watched a lot of strategy on YouTube. Got the foxpro, the guns and permission from five farmers to hunt their land after muzzleloader is done. Started on one property already, but really don't want to educate all the dogs with any amateur mistakes.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

The only thing wrong with this sport is that I can't figure out a good time to have a cigar.

Thanks, guys!

Hey man, I'm also new to coyote hunting (just started last year) I live just west of the cities. Where about do you live? Milaca area? Only had a few chunks of land to hunt. I need to get out and do some more door knocking one of these days....

NPro,
I live in Mpls and hunt south of Mille lacs. I also started last year, but only went a few times. Haven't called one in yet. Have only seen one set of tracks at each location. That isn't good. So this year will try to drive around after a snow and scout. Last year the wolves were in hinckley and no coyote tracks. Even the local guy that runs dogs said it was really slow. Makes me wonder if I'm in the right spots. I have been running foxpro for 2 minutes and waiting for 5. Last night read an article about guys just letting the thing run 20-30 minutes. This could change things?
You must be far enough south not to worry about wolves?

I've hunted the Onamia area for 25years. It can be hit or miss. Some years there are coyotes and fox, some years wolves. There was a bad rash of mange that came through a few years ago that did a lot of damage. To numbers as well.