Opinions on new beam scale

shelton573

I have been using a Lee Safety Scale for a few years now with good enough results. Recently I upgraded my press to a Rock Chucker Supreme and got to thinking about upgrading my scale. I have been looking at the RCBS 505 and 1010. I am curious what your all's opinion is on these scales and which is best. I can pick up the 505 for $50 on ebay and the 1010 for $100.

Any opinions on these two scales or any other brand of scale for that matter is much appreciated. Thanks.

depending on the type of shooting - and basically unless you're doing precision rifle shooting - look at a RCBS chargemaster. The accuracy is usually respectable for most loading, and because its weighing the charges for you while you're seating & putting the other finishing touches on your loads (qc checks, crimping, etc) it can save quite a bit of time.

i know its quite a bit more than you're talking about spending, but if you catch the sales, you can put one on your bench (after rebate) for $250 or a little under.

an automated dispenser was one of the first upgrades i made to my reloading kit, and i started off with the red model, but got a real lemon. Thankfully cabela's has a great return policy and when the chargemaster went on sale two weeks later, i took it back and upgraded.

its still probably the single most used item, other than my press, that i've added to my reloading kit!

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Plant.Onedepending on the type of shooting - and basically unless you're doing precision rifle shooting - look at a DPMS chargemaster.

was scratching my head on that for a second. at about the same time i realized i had fleas i figured out what you did there.

Originally Posted By: SlickerThanSnotOriginally Posted By: Plant.Onedepending on the type of shooting - and basically unless you're doing precision rifle shooting - look at a DPMS chargemaster.