New Mexico Hog Hunt

Zed

Hey Guys,

Quick questions. I am moving to Albuquerque, NM from Chicago, IL in the next two weeks and I have always wanted to go for a hog hunt. I currently have a BA 243 and a 308 AR. Would one of those work for a hog? I believe so.

Second question, what else do I need to know since I have never done it before?

Any help would be welcomed.

Thank you

Either of those will be adequate for hogs.

I have never hunted hogs in NM, but expect they may not be as easy to find as in other places. I would say look to think areas close to water and it looks like you need to head east.

000.jpeg

Both rifles would be work. Your biggest problem will be finding hogs. Not many places in NM have any substantial population of hogs. There are a few around Nogal, a few in the Boot hill and been hearing they are moving into SE NM around the Pecos river area. I have killed a few in the boot hill when calling coyotes but most of them are going to be found on private land and the landowner have decided they are a commodity now and want people to pay to play.

drscott

Thanks Hammer & Drscott,

Would a 300BLK also do the trick? I have been looking near the Canadian River up near Conchas.

Is there public land up North on the 419? and hike closer to the river and also be ready for Coyotes.

Yellowhammer is correct. Pigs need a permanent water source and are usually found close to agricultural areas. Most of them I have found over the years have been on state or BLM land adjacent to Alfalfa or chili fields.

drscott

Welcome to New Mexico. Hope you're ready for a bit of culture shock.
grin.gif