FNG With Fur Handling Questions

TheBig1

Good day everyone, I'm new to predator hunting, reloading, and now fur handling. I recently made an order from FoxPro and among my order I purchased two clearance DVD's. When I got my package there were 3 DVD's in there, thank you very much FoxPro for hooking a brother up, on purpose I'm hoping.

Anyways, I watched one of the DVD's, not sure which one, maybe Furtakers Volume 2, and in it Abner Druckenmiller asked his grandfather to do a tutorial on skinning a fox. It was pretty neat and looked like something that I could accomplish.

1. So one of my questions is, what sort of tools would I need to do this?

Gambrel, fur comb, tail stripper, fleshing block, fleshing knife, gloves, wooden stretchers, etc... What else might I be missing.

Also, I'm just looking to do this for fun, not looking to spend a lot of money.

2. Where would be the best place to buy all of this quality gear?

For instance in the video Abner's grandfather suggested a metal tail stripper and the wooden stretchers over the wire stretchers.

Also, I'm probably not looking to tan them myself. One thing that I learned in the video is that you can just stretch them and let them dry and they're good to go. I thought that was pretty cool. Again, I'm not looking to do much of anything with them. I might hang a few around the house but then after I've dried them I'd probably sell them to some fur guy or something.

Again, just looking to learn something new and have some fun.

FYI, I read the fur handling tips, 2-6 in another thread, and on one of the links it had plans to build your own fleshing block. That link to those directions did not work for me.

Thanks in advance,
Chad