Scope question for yote hunting

mnmike

Im not sure if this is the right area for this questions but here it goes.

Im looking at NF ATACR in either their F1 or their SFP. I make a couple trips out west each year to hunt yotes and I hunt them under moonlight here in minnesota. So my question is. On lower powers will the Reticle on the F1 be big enough to make shots at night? I know its illuminated but i havent looked though the F1's I have my buddies rifle here with the SFP version and i know that would work. But I like FFP scopes But have not hunted with one yet at night under moonlight to know if it will work. I have the Burris XTR II with the G2B reticle but havent had it long enough to try it under moonlight with snow on the ground. any input would be great Thanks.

Last edited:
I have lots of experience with FFP and might hunting, just not that high of magnification. I run a USO 1-6x and it normally stays on 3x. The reticle shows up fine and is plenty big. Mine is green illumination. I'm assuming you're running lights. I'm not sure if the illumination on the ATACR's are adjustable on the fly or not, but if they are like the NXS, it may be somewhat aggravating trying to get the illumination setup for all situations.

Moonlight is the only light I can use. The ATACR is just a push button on the side of the scope. Can be set up red or green. I think press and hold to adjust brightness.

Redleg84 when you have the scope on its lowest power with the reticle illuminated does it look kind of like a pain duplex? Or do you think it would be easily visible to hunt with at night under moonlight?

Redleg84 when you have the scope on its lowest power with the reticle illuminated does it look kind of like a pain duplex? Or do you think it would be easily visible to hunt with at night under moonlight?