rings around brass?? pics added

ny hunter

i'm reloading for my 3030 lever gun and noticed there are tight rings from about 1/4" up from the rim to the top of the shell? i've been reloading for a few years and have never seen this before.is this a sign of pressure.
the load was 29.9 gr.of imr 3031 with a 170 gr. sierra.

Last edited:
I've seen load data for that bullet and that powder....Max being 29.2. Read the posting "Understanding Pressure", its pretty informative, but I don't recall anything like that being mentioned, but I'm no expert. Hopefully there's someone out there who's been through this.

Here Kitty Kitty

How many times has this brass been loaded. Bright rings can lead to case head seperations. Very common in tc contenders in 35 rem. For the most part it comes from full length sizing your brass after every firing and a barrel with a generous chamber. My 35 will only let me use brass 4 times. 5 is asking for trouble.

Originally Posted By: sandy hicksHow many times has this brass been loaded. Bright rings can lead to case head seperations. Very common in tc contenders in 35 rem. For the most part it comes from full length sizing your brass after every firing and a barrel with a generous chamber. My 35 will only let me use brass 4 times. 5 is asking for trouble.
one factory and 5 reloads all full length,i'm shooting a marlin lever action from what i've read its full length only for lever guns.thank you

Originally Posted By: Mark204I've seen load data for that bullet and that powder....Max being 29.2. Read the posting "Understanding Pressure", its pretty informative, but I don't recall anything like that being mentioned, but I'm no expert. Hopefully there's someone out there who's been through this.
my sierra book comes in at 29.8 max and nosler at 30 max.i was trying to match the factory speeds.
i have the understanding pressure book mark there's a few good reads on that website.