Finally shot my new CZ 527 varmint today

bobcat93

I wanted to work on barrel break in today and try out a few loads. On most of my rifles I inlay a 4" picatiny rail in the forearm for bi-pod attachment.
Here is my set up
CZ 527 varmint chambered for 17 Remington, Leopold VXlll 6.5-20× 44mm..30 mm tube..very nice scope for this set up. Warne med. height rings.

All shots were at 100 yrds using 3" targets, and shooting 5 round groups.

My reloads were
New nosler 17 Remington brass
25 gr. Horndy v-max
Remington 7 1/2 br primers
I first tried some IMR 8208 BRX powder..it was clean and fast..but I couldn't get the groups to tighten up.

Next load was Alliant reloder 10×. Not as fast but very promising

Here are all my targets..I started shooting top left, then down.
The top target on the second row was shot with IMR powder. The rest of row two, and all of row three was Alliant reloader 10×

It seems like the more dirty the barrel got the better it was shooting. But as I was just out to break in the new barrel I didn't want carbon, and copper fouling to build up..

I will keep you posted as my reload development in this rifle.
Still looking for a magic powder / load.
Over all I'm happy with this rifle. It shot nice for being a stock.r rifle right out of the box..all I did was clean the [beeep] out of it, and adjust the trigger.
I will work on my load development, and maybe bed the action as a last resort.
Thanks guys.

Last edited:
Pic links need fixed.
unsure.gif

Greg

That's pretty stout shooting. I won't comment on a Nebraska coin, me being an Okie and all. LOL

My 527's are both 204's and the groups are so good they ruin the need for a custom rig completely.

Greg

I had to make a correction..I listed alliant reloder 15 as a propellent I used in my reload for the 17 Remington.. (I didn't use reloder 15 in the 17 Remington).. it was Alliant reloder 10×
Sorry.

I really hold the CZ 527 in high regard..what a nice rifle..

Last edited: