Finding muzzle velocity without chronograph?

KyleWoods

Hello, I am new to reloading and don't have a chronograph. I was wondering if there was some way of estimating muzzle velocity based on powder, barrel length, twist, bullet, etc. I know it's probably a long shot, but I don't feel like spending the money on a chrony, mostly because velocity isn't a huge deal to me (reloading for varminting, nothing crazy either like 800 yard shots). I just thought it would be cool to compare published data to my own, even if it isn't 100% accurate.

You can use Quicklaod for a SWAG but that will be as much as a chronograph if you buy it. Really $100.00 isn't much in the scheme of things when you can use it for a lifetime.

Or go shoot your load at various ranges say 50, 100 and 200 and them reverse engineer the speed based on bullet drop assuming., big assume, you have a true BC on the bullet you are shooting.

Greg

Shooter, no problem reverse engineering being I'm an engineer
thumbup1.gif

I figured the response would be to just use a chrony but I was just making sure.

It is not that hard. Get a good dead nuts zero at 100, then move out to 200. Measure the drop, play with the velocity numbers on a ballistic app until it fits. You will need the BC of the bullet, and a no wind day. Would be better to stretch out to longer distances and repeat.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: DiRTY DOGThe published BC ARE exadurated, knock it down a little before you start computing estimated velocity.

There that's better
wink.gif
wink.gif

Brian Litz has published quite a few BC's he has shot for correct BC calculation that are our on the net. I believe some may be over on the Berger site.

Greg

Originally Posted By: GLShooterBrian Litz has published quite a few BC's he has shot for correct BC calculation that are our on the net. I believe some may be over on the Berger site.

Greg

JBM also has some of the Litz data in their bullet library.