On the fence for 17 hornet?

rudymontana

I have been following the 17 Hornet on this site for a while. Reading a lot of information on the web also. Some say once fired brass splits when reloaded. Components are hard to find etc. Looking at a 17 hornet for coyotes and minimal fur damage. No shots over a 100 yards.
What is the real truth, I know I will get the best information on this site. Thanks Rudy

I have been shooting and reloading my 17 Hornet for about 2 years now. It is a CZ527 Varmint and is an excellent rifle. I have taken a few fox, and a lot of jack rabbit with it but no coyotes (that will change this year). For the range you are talking about I have no doubt that it will do the job with a good bullet (like a 25gr HP) and proper placement. Currently I shoot the 30gr Kindler bullet over H4198 and get 3100 ft/s. As far as components go, I have never had difficulty getting anything.

Originally Posted By: erikc838I've never had the brass split and it is currently on its 6th loading.

Are you annealing at all? Six times loaded sounds pretty darn good, nice job!

I wonder if some of those reports of split necks is from folks making 17 Ackley Hornet from 22 Hornet brass which is slightly different from the production version 17 Hornet or 17 Hornady Hornet as it's often referred to.

I am not annealing.
Originally Posted By: B23Originally Posted By: erikc838I've never had the brass split and it is currently on its 6th loading.

Are you annealing at all? Six times loaded sounds pretty darn good, nice job!

I wonder if some of those reports of split necks is from folks making 17 Ackley Hornet from 22 Hornet brass which is slightly different from the production version 17 Hornet or 17 Hornady Hornet as it's often referred to.

never bought any virgin 17 hh brass. shoot the factory loaded stuff to get my brass.