New hunter needing help

Nauxier16

Hey guys I've been on a few coyote stands here in eastern Ky but have not had any luck. I am a beginner to say the least at coyote hunting. I have deer/turkey hunted all my life but just now getting into predator hunting. I have been using my foxpro wildfire e-caller. I recently bought a new foxpro hellfire because I've read that it is a better call. What kinds of calls should I be making and how long. Also how long should I stay in one location without activity before moving on? All help is GREATLY appreciated! Thanks in advance!

I figure the sounds I make when calling might contribute about 10% - 15% to the success of a stand. Marksmanship another 10% - 15%... The key is where you decide to make those sounds from. That's called "the stand" or something similar and is about 70% - 80% of your success. It's just that important. Research how to choose a winning location to plop down and start the screaming and you'll be well on your way to having some fur on the ground.

Here is some research material...

http://www.predatormastersforums.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=83113#Post83113

I have learned that after you decide to stop calling. Keep still and sit tight for a bit in silence. Sometimes they will respond after the commotion has stopped. I was hunting fox over last winter. Nothing responded so I walked around. I went back to my stand location and found fox tracks on the snowy log that I was sitting against. The tracks were literally in my butt print.

Nauxier16,

Feel free to give me a call anytime between 9AM and 7PM I will be more than happy to explain how I typically set up on a stand. I will answer whatever questions you may have.

G19g4,

You are correct, I usually stay 5 to 7 minutes after completing my call sequence and and has done well for me.

Joe
(814)364-9660

Last edited: