650XL or Hornady Loc n Load

soup

Folks ,

I'm thinking about getting a progressive press , either Dillon 650XL or a Hornady Loc n Load . No matter which I'll get the case feeder . Both companies have good customer service and warranties
I load Varget in .223 for my AR and I'm concerned about metering into a small neck with a progressive press . I have no knowledge of either machine , but read of issues with the 650 , this was a while ago and perhaps it has been corrected . I also load 38/357-44 - and 22 K Hornet although I load the Hornet on a single stage .

If anyone has any expierence with these issues I'd appreciate the help. Thank you in advance for your time and consideration.

Semper Fi
Soup

i dont think metering through a 223 neck will be as much of an issue as will getting a good consistent throw of stick powder through any powder dispenser. i gave up on that a long time ago and only hand charge (powder funnel, lee charging die and my Chargemaster) them on my LNL when i'm loading up hunting rounds. I have plinking rounds i load with the powder dispenser using H335.

38's will fly through the LNL like candy - and i'm pretty sure the 44's will too. Straight walled pistol is the only stuff i do run as mostly full progressive - i deprime and tumble before hand on everything.

otherwise i love my LNL as the caliber changes are sooo easy with those bushings.

if you go that route make sure you get a powder charge die and the right insert for each caliber though for quick caliber changes so you dont have to fuss around. that way you can just drop the powder dispenser on top, change the metering drum and you don't have to fuss around adjusting the die over for every caliber you run.