how to smooth sharp edges on barrel extension lugs

dan158

This is not on the ramp but above and on the back side of the lugs.. My brass are getting nice scars and think this is why getting split necks.. Or should I call the barrel manufacturer and see if they will fix it?? This is my first year I fired it since I built, not sure if they will take care of it because its been 2 years since I purchased barrel... Thanks . Dan

ypu have gotten some good info in your other thread. My suggestion is to go back and re-read the replys = lower your powder charge and anneal you brass.

Originally Posted By: midwestpredatorypu have gotten some good info in your other thread. My suggestion is to go back and re-read the replys = lower your powder charge and anneal you brass.

Lowering powder charge is not going to remove the markings on my brass.. I can duplicate them just from chambering a dummy round and ejecting.. So my charge has nothing to do with the markings and deep scratches I am getting..

Try a dremel with a polishing wheel. I've got a small pointed polisher that works well for that and the feed ramps.

Originally Posted By: 204 ARTry a dremel with a polishing wheel. I've got a small pointed polisher that works well for that and the feed ramps.

Its actually on the extraction of the case. So wouldn't I have to get to the back of the lugs to smooth those ones?? And to get that angle I would have to take the barrel off the receiver I would think.. Thank you. Dan

Originally Posted By: dan158Originally Posted By: 204 ARTry a dremel with a polishing wheel. I've got a small pointed polisher that works well for that and the feed ramps.

Its actually on the extraction of the case. So wouldn't I have to get to the back of the lugs to smooth those ones?? And to get that angle I would have to take the barrel off the receiver I would think.. Thank you. Dan