Help a newbie!!

Marcl84

Im the new guy around here. I'm also new to coyote hunting as well. I'm looking for some advice and or tips on getting started. I already have the guns and camo covered as I'm a avid deer and turkey hunter. My biggest question has to do with calls. I've been looking at some diaphragm calls and electronic models. What sounds should I focus on here in the south east? And are there certain calls that are only effective during certain times of the year?

Thanks in advance!

I would contact some of the various call makers here on the board for their suggestions...Most produce lines of inexpensive calls...many can be pitched from birds to calves..

When I first started several years ago, I had no idea of what a predator call should even sound like and purchased an inexpensive Johnny Stewart electronic call and had a little success, but found it was more trouble setting up without broadcasting to all the Coyotes that I was in the area...Coyotes are one of the most wary and danger sensitive creatures on the planet...

Then I found Predator Masters and got some good advice from a couple of the more active call makers and bought a couple of inexpensive mouth calls and success picked up...I still had to figure out what the Coyotes in my area at the time were responding to, but it sure made calling much easier and less time consuming...

Welcome to Predator Masters, and to the sport of predator calling!!

IMHO, the idea behind "regional sounds", is a myth that some folks enjoy spreading.
I say this because I hunted my life here in Kansas.
We have zero snowshoe hares here. Yet, I have called coyotes with snowshoe distress.
With the exception of an extremely small herd, there are no wild elk in the state. Yet I have called coyotes using elk calf distress.
I could go on, but I think you get the idea.

I can only speak for the hunting from Sept-Mar, as I have never hunted the warmer months.