Coyote call help

Peardog

I am very new to coyote hunted and decided to give summer hunting a try with my research i have come to the conclusion howling, pup and fawn distress work the best(correct me if im wrong) I was considering the Carver big dog howler and the RR custom elk distress. My question is can I achieve my goals of howling, fawn and pup distress with these calls? And obviously i can use these calls in winter for cottontail distress. Open to other options to help me this summer!!

I'm just one guy, but I've been calling for about 25yrs, and I'd say it's probably 20 to 1 which I've called using cottontail or jackrabbit distress sounds to any other sound (fawn distress, howls, woodpecker, mouse squeaks, etc). I have hundreds of calls, the vast majority of them rabbit distress for that reason.

Kerry's Big Dog howler will howl, no doubt about that. You might have trouble cleanly pulling down all the way for pup distress, but you should be able to bleat some fawn distress pretty easily near the tip. Depending upon the bell design, I wouldn't expect a good "big dog howler" to be good at cottontail distress.

Out of all of the calls I have, I don't have one of Ric's elk distress calls. I'd venture it'd be a little deep for a whitetail fawn distress bleat, but maybe. Same for the cottontail distress as above, a sweet singing elk call shouldn't do a good and raspy, shrill cottontail very well.

Ok cool thanks for the help. Will definitely try to get my hands on Ricks cottontail distress for this summer and see how it works. I was just going off of what i read on previous forums and articles.

Originally Posted By: PeardogOk cool thanks for the help. Will definitely try to get my hands on Ricks cottontail distress for this summer and see how it works. I was just going off of what i read on previous forums and articles.