Muzzleloader Question??

I just got back from Sportsmans Warehouse. I bought the CVA Optima II Stainless with the 26" barrel. The barrel is fluted and it only weighs 4 ounces more than the 24" Wolf. Sunday I'm going to go with my buddy and shoot it. I'm going to use his powder, bullets and stuff and then start deciding on what "stuff" I want to buy. As the off season gets started, I'm sure I'll be on here with many more questions. Thanks for all the info!!

I have no real experience with that one but from all that I have read about the new CVA's I think you made a great choice and should be happy with it.

Let us know how it shoots !

Nice.....I was hoping you would go that way. Let us know how she shoots! Lots of reports say they can't tell the difference in accuracy between the Optima's, and the Accura's.

Some of the muzzleloader recommendations made in this thread, for this situation, would not work for open-sight hunting in Colorado. The CVA Accura MR is not even not drilled/tapped for open sights due to the rifle being designed specifically for the use of a scope. Unlike the other CVA muzzleloaders, the Accura MR is built on an aluminum-alloy version of the Apex frame. You would have to lay your head down on the top of the stock like it was a pillow, to come close to lining-up on open sights with an Accura MR.

Barrel is a little short but I guess it's OK.....
grin.gif

What part of the state do you plan to hunt? Might bump into each other.

Originally Posted By: BUTCHER45Some of the muzzleloader recommendations made in this thread, for this situation, would not work for open-sight hunting in Colorado. The CVA Accura MR is not even not drilled/tapped for open sights due to the rifle being designed specifically for the use of a scope.