Digital NV (pulsar/photon/Xsight)

TxFF

Anyone have the chance to view both the Sightmark Photon and the ATN X-Sight?

In short, the million dollar question.....about to buy NV. (That will be digital due to cost) so what's recommended?

Seems from all the YouTube videos, in my opinion most look pretty good as long as you invest in a better/good IR Light.

If this is already out there somewhere, sorry I'm new to PM

Thanks for the opinions

I have had the opportunity to use both and I far favor the Sightmark Photon for night hunting. It is simply more responsive to ambient light. I own the first Sightmark as well as the newer Photon. The newer scope is a great deal better than the old one, but the old one is better than the X-Sight.

My X-sight experience is with the 5X model. It is really about 7x. The higher magnification, plus the light gathering weakness make it hard to use at night. A lot of my night shots are below 150 yds. Most are 50yds or so. The field of view of the X-sight is just not wide enough to use effectively at the close range that it can see at night. If you want to use the X-sight in the daytime, it is pretty handy. It has a five times zoom function that will really put you visually close to your target with good clarity. It is a battery hog though. It uses twice as many batteries as the Photon and uses them twice as fast.

I use my Photon XT day and night. I much prefer an optical sight in the daytime, but for those times in the evening and early morning when you just can't quite see with the optical, the Photon comes into it's own. I much prefer the Photon XT over all other scopes I've had the fortune to use. It is lighter weight, sights in easily and gives you ample vision for shots out to 200yds and better at night.