Total newbie-Two rifles different threads, one can or two

cmatera

I have a 6x45 and a .264 LBC AR. The 6x45 has a 1/2x28 thread, the .264 LBC has a 5/8-24 thread. Both are BHW barrels. Would you get 1 can to share or 1 for each? If one to share, how with different threads? Threaded or quick disconnect? Is the length of the threaded part of all barrels standard? Can someone with knowledge on this help me? TIA

Thread adapters or if your ok with spending over 100 bucks on mounts you can go with a compact break or tomb style mount like TB and SAS use.

Not a problem, buy 2, you'll be glad you did. Seriously, you can use 1 can with either thread adapters or with quick disconnects. I have an AAC suppressor that I use on different guns/calibers, there are 2 of us on the trust so it's easy to pass to each other. I also have one direct thread in hand and one more in jail. It was a psychological problem from me when I bought the QD suppressor then bought the additional mounts for the other guns, that I had to go with the the same brand suppressor on my next purchases so the mounts weren't a waste of money and that it was would be easy to change. Don't get caught up with that line of thinking, it limits your choices. Buy what you want. In the end you'll have 2.
Good luck.

Originally Posted By: cmatera I think I'll put the $200 in mounts (QD), and buy two (direct thread, less weight, slightly better suppression).

Not sure where your info is coming from but DT is heavier than a TOMB style suppressor and is ZERO difference in DB reduction. A DT also doesn't lock up as tight or as consistent.

My info comes from the Internet, so it has to be right😀 I'm not saying the suppressors themselves are any heavier or lighter, but I will likely have something on the muzzle on my gun all the time, adding weight. What do each of those two mounts cost? The tomb may lock up tighter and may cost a little in accuracy, depending on who you ask.