Colorado bobcat trapping

Mountainman44

Hi, im just getting started with trapping and im wondering if u guys could give me some advice on where to put it what lures to use and even how to make my own baits/lures and also in colorado live traps are the only traps you can use

Thanks in advance

Location-best place to put a trap is where you find a track.

Bait/lure-lots of good lure out there-every trapper seems to have their favorite-find yours ALWAYS use urine and Cage Magic lead in scent

Lastly-join the state trapping association and attend the rendezvous(to late for that this year-plan on going next) LOTS of good info to pick up there

Always practice persistence and perseverance-it took me two years to catch my first cat

Good Luck!

If you are trapping for fur to sell when u catch a bobcat in a live trap does shooting it affect the price the fur will go for if so what is a good method of not harming the fur?
Thanks

A small caliber shot in the head does not affect the value of the fur.

You will need to wash it before selling.

Last edited:
22 behind the shoulder has always worked for me, I like to hang on to the skulls. When I spent time trapping for cats I found that the most important thing for me to be successful was time put into scouting, finding the cats travel routes. Cats are a creature of habit they have a territory they travel.

Anyone have good bobcat bait recipes that doesnt freeze and hold a good scent in cold weather.Also i just bought a bottle of milligan man cat-man-do and havnt been having much luck (i think its just freezing). Any additional tips are greatly appriciated

Do you have cats visiting your cage but not committing? How close do you see tracks?
If they are coming to the cage but not in it, make sure to use plenty of urine, something visual in the back (feathers, fur, etc). Mercers Cage Magic Lead in Scent goes in all my traps.