Reloading the .17 Hornet

Dixiedog1

How is the .17 Hornet to reload? I reload a lot of calibers and have been thinking about purchasing a .17 Hornet and I'm wondering how this round is to reload. I haven't loaded an .17 caliber ammo yet, I'm a bit concerned about the tiny size of the bullet and keeping it straight when seating the bullet. Is it a pain to load?

I have been loading it for a couple of years now. I personally don't find it anymore difficult to load than any other cartridge. I do use a Hornady new dimension seating die which I believe is easier to start the bullet with. But I use the RCBS sizing die.

I started out loading the Hornady 25 gr hp. In the past year I have been using the 25 gr HP from the woodchuck den, which if I remember correctly is a boat tail.

Originally Posted By: NChunter89I have been loading it for a couple of years now. I personally don't find it anymore difficult to load than any other cartridge. I do use a Hornady new dimension seating die which I believe is easier to start the bullet with.

my thoughts exactly. the hornady die with the sliding sleeve seems to help a bunch with getting the little bullets started up in the die.

Guess I'll find out soon enough....I went ahead and ordered the new Ruger .17 Hornet today. I'm not a big fan of the set of Hornady .444 Marlin dies I purchased but with 2 first hand reviews on the .17 Hornet dies I ordered a set of Hornady new dimension dies to get started.

Anybody have much experience with the Lil' Gun powder in .17 Hornet? I figured I'd start there with 20 gr Vmaxes and venture further if needed

I personally didn't have much luck with the lil' gun powder. I have read about some having pressure issues using it in the 17 hornet but I have also heard others that swear by it. I ended up using AA1680 powder in my hornet loadings.

If you haven't loaded it before ---
Best advice would be to get a 17 funnel that fits down on neck ---
Makes it a lot easier ---
Thx