Howling

dogdestroyer1

I have been predator hunting heavily for 10+ years. I see videos and hear of guys going out and letting out a couple howls before they start the distress sounds. The more I think about it the more I question its effectiveness, I am a successful coyote hunter and will put 2-4 in the truck per day average(some better some much worse) lol. If I start letting out a few howls before will I put more coyotes in the truck on average? does any guys actually have an example or knowledge of this that it actually works?

A lot of really good coyote hunters start most stands with a couple of non threatening howls. IMO, it will not hurt you. If you are consistently putting that many coyotes in the truck, you might want to just stick to what you are doing though.

I am not very good with vocals. For the majority of my coyote hunting life, I mostly just have not used them. It's my weak suit, for sure. But I decided about a year ago that I was going to work harder on learning to use them effectively. I travelled some long distances to hunt with some of the guys I consider the best, most experienced coyote men around to learn more about vocalizations from them and I've been using a lot of vocals this year in various ways.

All that to simply establish that I'm not qualified to answer your questions! It all beats the heck out of me too.

But, your last sentence "does any guys actually have an example or knowledge of this that it actually works?". Not counting any of the denning stuff I saw and did this summer, talking only about fur season, I actually do have a couple of recent examples, where howling seems to have worked.