Favorite predator knife?

Well Joe... are you going to show us what you've come up with?
smile.gif

tnyhunter, sure, things have been pretty wild around here with hunting season and some nice upgrades to the shop, so I haven't had much time to work on these, but here is where im at with them.

411774038.jpg

this one was the one that I had in my head. it is a modified small paring knife. this one will be going with me when I find some time to go coyote hunting and will also give it a workout on small game. I think it needs some drop to the handle, and I will probably make one with the finger guard moved back to where it sits between the first and second fingers and see how I like that.

411774039.jpg

this is my personal carter pattern necker, which is the first one out of 440c stainless. I have been carrying it for a couple months, and dressed out and skinned my antelope and my boys first ever antelope a couple weeks ago. this pattern is a great light use all arounder, but the blade is a bit wide for {I imagine, as I haven't done it} splitting the tail on a coyote.

411774041.jpg

this one is a modified carter pattern necker, with a narrower blade, I like it a lot as the narrower blade makes turning in cuts much nicer, and I think it would work good for the tail.

411774040.jpg

this one is pretty much the next one up, only in 440c and with a different finish.

McCrosky sells a Trapper Set that is the best you will put your hands on

mccroskeyknives.com

I skinned and butcher'd 8 deer, then loaded it to another fellow that had a custom knife that got dull, the single knife would still shave you after 10 deer.

Originally Posted By: ackleymanMcCrosky sells a Trapper Set that is the best you will put your hands on

mccroskeyknives.com

I skinned and butcher'd 8 deer, then loaded it to another fellow that had a custom knife that got dull, the single knife would still shave you after 10 deer.

That's a lot of performance out of ATS-34.