Vortex Diamondback HP 3-12x42

nrvet06

I just picked up a Savage .17 HMR the other day. Does anyone have input on this scope? I am new to the .17 world. Is this an acceptable scope? Should I buy the Crossfire II and save my money or should I just buy the leupold VX II at amazon. My local gun store sells vortex and that is why I am considering vortex in the first place. Any info is appreciated.

I just picked up a vortex diamond back HP in 4-16x42 on sale from cabelas for around $250...I haven't shot it yet but I was comparing it to my red field revolution 4-12x40 and to me and my eyes the diamondback was brighter and clearer. I like the turrets better on the vortex and it has side parallax. I love my red field but I always thought the turrets were mushy although it has never let me down. The only knock on the vortex thus far is the reticle is a little too thick. I really don't think you would go wrong with the vortex.

I have a vortex diamondback hp in the 4-16 model on a Rem 700 .270. The glass is good and I really like the side parallax adjustment compared to the crossfire II I have which is an AO. It tracks spot on and the turrents are nice. When I first mounted it to my rifle, it took me a whole two shots to hit the bullseye. 1 shot to see where it was at, made adjustments, and 2nd shot was to the bullseye. The next three followed suit and its held zero after using it during two whitetail seasons. I like mine and say get one. It comes with a sunshade too and the warranty is great if you need it. I have 2 vortex scopes and haven't had an issue

Last edited:
I got very serious about the diamondback hp scopes, until I checked them out in person. I found the glass to be extremely poor. Low light performance was poor, resolution low, and even some fish eye effect at lower magnifications. The build quality is also noticeably lacking. I found them plasticky feeling, and unattractive.