Tikka T3 22-250 Load Suggestions

wilee.wade

I am fairly new to reloading and trying to work up a load for my Tikka 22-250 1:14 twist). Wondering what you guys have had success with? I have tried Barnes TSX 53 grain bullets w/ TAC powder, it really did not like that combo (as Barnes clearly stated on the box). Loaded up some V-Max 53 grain bullets on top of H380 (37.0 to 37.4 grains) and had an ok first round (maybe .75" @ 100 yds). Reloaded some more and shot today, they are just about an inch @ 100. I know this rifle can shoot better than this... Maybe I just need to keep bumping up the powder? Being new to this I am staying on the conservative side...

Thank you in advance for any recipes and suggestions.

Wade

Try a max. Book load of varget with 40 grn vmax. Been a real good coyote load for me. No fur damage 200 yds and less. 20 coyotes credited to this combo in my exact gun.

Another suggestion for Varget but with a 50 gr. Nosler BT. My Tikka 22-250 shoots tiny groups with that combo. Also shoots the Berger 52 gr. Match Varmint just as well.

My buddy's best group to date is with 36.3 gr. of Varget behind a 55 gr. vmax. Getting around 3/4 inch groups. He is going to try some H4895 and H380 and see how they shoot.

Dave

Thank you guys for the suggestions, I will give them a try. I am leaning towards the heavier bullets because I am primarily hunting coyotes with this rifle. We can also get some wind here and like the heavier bullets for that. Keep the suggestions coming, I will try them.

My Tikka likes H380 and a 55 grain Berger Match Target. Don't know if it's commen but my Tikka didn't shoot well until I had close to 100 rounds down the barrel. In fact I almost sold it! Glad I kept it now.

I have been loading 55 grn. V-Max with 35 grns of Varget. My nephew has taken about 25 coyotes this winter with the load. I am guessing that they are fur friendly because he is selling the hides.