johnny stewart ms-512

Dirtpoorhunter

hello im very new to hunting coyotes and i just bougth a johnny stewart ms-512 call from a friend and it is giving me some trouble if there is any one that knows anything about these and would like to help please help. the call is flashing the red light when you put the tape in .i tryed charging it for 24 hours and it will work till you stop or take the tape out if you put a different tape in the light starts flashing and it will not work till you chargeit for a bit . any help is greatly apperciated.

Those are lead-acid batteries, and if they sat around for a while, they go bad. There's probably no way to revive them.

I found you replacment batteries, though, if you decide to invest the money.

ms-512 batteries.

Like it says on that page, measure them and see which type you need before you order.

Last edited:
Certainly measure the batteries and then try to find a single 12 volt battery that will physically fit in the spot.

The 512 has two 6v batteries wired in series to supply 12v for the player. There is no good reason to go that route. With today's batteries you should be able to find a single 12v battery with an equal or greater amp-hour rating that will fit in 512 case.

Search the internet for various battery sources, don't overlook some of the big electronics supply houses like Allied Electronics.

Take your measurements and head to your local farm store, check in the fence charger and coon hunting light area - you'll pay a premium but may make up for it in saved shipping charges.

My 512 needs a battery, too. I may try to make time to find a suitable replacement on-line in the near future. I'll post what I find.

Originally Posted By: JoeF Certainly measure the batteries and then try to find a single 12 volt battery that will physically fit in the spot.