Bushmaster Threads for Flash Hider

6mm06

I have a Bushmaster 16" M4 A3 that has a flash hider. It appears that it is threaded on and I assume it is. My question is, what is the thread size? Would it be a 1/2x28 that would readily accept a suppressor?

Look at the threads, it may not be cut for a suppressor. Just because it has threads does not mean they are suppressor ready.

Originally Posted By: reb8600Look at the threads, it may not be cut for a suppressor. Just because it has threads does not mean they are suppressor ready.

Elaborate.

Originally Posted By: crapshootOriginally Posted By: reb8600Look at the threads, it may not be cut for a suppressor. Just because it has threads does not mean they are suppressor ready.

Elaborate.

do not know if this is what he is talking about but i have a couple AR barrels that do not have a thread relief cut where the threads stop and the shoulder is. a suppressor will not screw all the way up tight to the shoulder on those. i use a machined 1/2" shim between the barrel shoulder and suppressor end cap on those. not a crush washer.

Originally Posted By: SlickerThanSnotOriginally Posted By: crapshootOriginally Posted By: reb8600Look at the threads, it may not be cut for a suppressor. Just because it has threads does not mean they are suppressor ready.

Elaborate.

do not know if this is what he is talking about but i have a couple AR barrels that do not have a thread relief cut where the threads stop and the shoulder is. a suppressor will not screw all the way up tight to the shoulder on those. i use a machined 1/2" shim between the barrel shoulder and suppressor end cap on those. not a crush washer.

Mine does. Or maybe I'm not understanding what you are saying clearly. Here is a pic of a few barrels that are threaded. The can screws all the way to the shoulder on all of them even the ugly one where the threads stop way short of the shoulder. I just removed the birdcage and screwed on the can on the AR barrels.