Navy Vet, need advice on predator build.

Vance

I have no experience with AR's at all other than I did handle one at a gun store once. When I was in the service I used an M14 some, but in my line of work did not get to use it much. I want to jump into this game, but I don't just want a standard run of the mill .223 either. I have been doing a lot of research and it is kind of over whelming with all the variations out there. It makes this hard to decide which way to go.

I want to go with a flat top, optics ready platform, with a 20" barrel and I'm thinking 6x45 caliber. I don't currently own anything in .223/5.56 and would like to have that covered since it seems that everyone has these and I feel left out :) I own a bolt action .204 Ruger and feel like the .223 is just too similar and would like something different. I do reload and like the fact that this is a simple resize of readily available brass to make this happen.

My question : should I just get a standard .223/5.56 entry level gun and then build on that to get what I really want ?

Or should I build from the ground up what I really want, then get a .223 upper later on ?

Right now I have $700 saved up and I'm trying to sell a semi auto .17 HMR to help fund this project. Also, being new to the AR platform, I kind of want to build one so I understand all the workings of these.

What would you all suggest here?

Well.. given that, and that you want a 223.

I would suggest that you look at the Del-tron. They have a complete AR-15 in 5.56 (get this version) with m4 feed ramps, and use that as your starter. I have seen some cases where they are selling it for under $600 complete.

Then you can upgrade that, or then start just buying the parts one at a time or in packs, until you have all the components to assemble it.

I personally don't like the upgrade option since that means that you spent your limited money to buy parts that you won't use. (personal opinion)