Bait pile help needed

mrbrandonb

I'm new to the forum, but have been reading posts for about a year. I'm also new to coyote hunting; any advice is appreciated.

Here's the "short version." I recently moved to a home on the Logan/Union county border in Ohio. My neighbor, an older, retired chap, informed me that coyote pass through the area NIGHTLY. I got my hunting license last year for the specific purpose of hunting coyote at my dad's property (he hears them often, has dogs, etc). I was elated. It turns out my new house is triangulated between a hog farm, a cattle farm, and a chicken/egg farm (mixed feelings).

I set up a trail cam and, sho 'nuff, yotes on cam almost nightly. I started baiting them with freezer burnt meat to get a head count- 1 big guy and one "teen." I own 10 acres and the fence of my pasture (cam location) faces my field (rented to a farmer, currently housing beans). Afraid of ricochet and etc, I built a 4'x6'x1' backstop filled with sand.

That was two weeks ago. I have a good shooting spot 100 yards down the fence row and have my TC Venture (.223) sighted in. I adjusted my security lighting to cast a SLIGHT light onto the white backstop. Ever since the backstop was built... no yotes (except for one morning around 05:00. Previously, they were on cam between 21:00 and 00:00). I have baited with chicken, hot dogs, turkey, beef...no yotes.

Any advice is appreciated. I'm REALLY looking forward to dropping my first "dirty dawg."

Thanks!

TC Venture .223
Nikon scope (3-9 x 40mm)
Wildfire 2 sound box
Hornady V-Max ammo
Rookie enthusiasm

Most critters will take a long time to adjust to new manmade structures. The combination of the wall and your scent all around it will deter coyotes for quite a while as they are not accustomed to either.

Last edited: