Advice for a novice coyote hunter

OsageAssassin

Howdy y'all, my name is Kyler and I'm 18 years old. About to start my senior year of high school before heading off to college at K-State. I've hunted southeast Kansas (Montgomery and Chautauqua county) since I was 6. My family owns 440 acres of land that I have full access to that I hunt regularly for deer and turkey. I am not very experienced in coyote hunting, and this will be my first year of going after em. I want to thin the coyote population to help out the deer, turkey, and quail. But I also think Coyotes are very intriguing animals, and that calling them in is a very exciting challenge. I know there are many coyotes on the property, and can hear many groups howling every evening. This land is mostly forest, very dense with lots of mixed oak and cedar trees, the terrain is fairly hilly, making lots of places where the wind swirls. The small patches that aren't dense forest are tall grass, with cedars scattered in. There aren't many high spots that are good vantage points to see a long ways, besides tree stands I suppose. There are also 2 small and one medium sized winter wheat food plots surrounded by timber. I know there are lots of unpressured Coyotes out there that I want to start hunting (also lots of Bobcats) I just need some tips to set me in the right direction, especially with the difficult terrain I have to hunt. I have a .243 and a 12 gauge, and a Primos Lil Dog call. Any insight you all could offer about setup or calling in my conditions would be much appreciated. I plan to have a few days next week dedicated to putting some shags on the ground!

Welcome to PM. It is always good to see young men coming into this sport. This place is loaded with guys like Mick and you will gain a wealth of knowledge. Sorry I could not give you any advice but I am also new to this.

Last edited: