HOT Day in a ND PD Town 7-22-2015--some carnage photos

Silverfox

I have a Tikka Master Sporter in .22-250. I had a 1 in 12 Brux barrel given the BLACKNITRIDE™ treatment in the fall of 2013 and had my gunsmith install that on my Tikka. I had two other rifle barrels chamber and installed and they both had the BLACKNITRIDE™ treatment. One is a .17 Remington and the other is a .204 Ruger and I spent the majority of my time working up loads for those two rifles. Anyway, I started working to find a load for the Tikka late last fall and I am currently shooting the 50 gr. Hornady Z-Max bullets and liking them a bunch. However, a friend of mine suggested that I try the 53 gr. Hornady V-Max bullets. They have a BC of .290 compared to a BC of about .230 for the 50 gr. Z-Max bullets. He sent 25 of the bullets to me and I cleaned them and coated them with hBN. I didn’t have any empty Lapua brass so yesterday I went PD shooting in the afternoon!!!

It was a long day on Wednesday, July 22. My wife and I played 18 holes of golf early in the morning. Then we went to the Dakota Farms Family Restaurant and had breakfast. Next, we drove 15 miles SW of Williston to a little recreation area and recreated for about 20 minutes. We drove back home and I got my hunting duds on and drove about 50 miles SW of Williston and met a friend of mine at 1:45 p.m. He was working close to the area I was going hunt PDs in. We talked coyote hunting and PD shooting. He has a couple of tolling dogs that work really nice. We parted ways and he went back to work and I went PD shooting. It was 97º in the dog town!!!! I got back home around 9:30 p.m. Did I mention, “It was a long day?!?!?!?”